The Struggle of an Indie Developer

Overall I do this now full time since one year and Three Points was my 20th app. So far none of the apps made really noticeable money. But I see em as learnings and progress, its just a matter of keep on doing it.

This month was the first profitable. iAd made 800 usd and chartboost (late implementation -3 weeks to late) made 200 usd this week my artist/partner Sabba Keynejad made a deal with a guy from California we made em a clone of four points for 2000 usd which was good money.

So this month was around 3000 usd which I split 50% with Sabba because he made my concept big and helped form em into perfect simple versions.

I just think its an extreme hard business and I would suggest no one to start with games that take to long and rather go for a lot of quick learnings until you know what the crowd thinks is a good game and not your own Ego. I still sometimes struggle with that and end up shipping small games that feel really fun to work on but once I shipped and some time passed I realize that they are not as awesome as it felt to build em and they are way to inaccessible for the crowd.

Some People now start to clone my best games but this whole cloning doesn’t bother me too much, since I don’t think that there is something like the ultimate idea or concept, there is an endless amount of ideas that want to be expressed, no reason to be locked in to a specific.

The only wish I really have is that I can keep on doing and stop worrying about money. Thats the dream…

Got roughly money left until March 2015. So back to work.

Kommentar verfassen

